Keshavchaitanya Kunte

IMG_7692 - Copy
Dr Keshavchaitanya Kunte (usually referred to as Chaitanya Kunte) is a Harmonium player, composer and a musicologist. Dr Kunte is the founder director of ‘Dr Ashok Da Ranade Archives of Performing Culture’, Pune. He is currently working as Assistant Professor and Guru at Centre for Performing Arts [Lalit Kala Kendra Gurukul] of Savitribai Phule Pune University.

Chaitanya received extensive training in Hindustani music, especially for Harmonium under the guidance of Dr Arawind Thatte. He also received guidance from Pt Mohanrao Karve for vocal music and Dr Ashok Da Ranade for musicology. Chaitanya Kunte received a fellowship for his research on ‘Tappa’ from Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India. He was honoured with Doctorate in Music (2017) for research work entitled ‘Music at the Places of Prayer in 21st Century Urban Pune: An Ethnomusicological study’

Chaitanya is one of the leading artistes having accompanied maestros such as Bhimsen Joshi, Kishori Amonkar, Prabha Atre, Rajan Sajan Mishra, Ulhas Kashalkar, Rashid Khan, Ashwini Bhide, and many others in India and across the globe. As a solo Harmonium player, he has given many concerts, lecture-demonstrations and workshops on Harmonium.

Chaitanya Kunte’s compositions cover a wide range of genre such as Khayal, Dhrupad, Tappa, Thumri, Chaturang, to Marathi Bhavgeet, Abhang, Lawani and Ghazal. He has created few new Ragas, too. He has scored music for several dance choreographies, plays, musicals, AIR features and documentaries.

Many of his research articles on musicology are published in journals and newspapers. He has edited several journals and books, including ‘Chhandowati’, ‘Swar-Smriti’, ‘PunyaSwar’, ‘Marmagya’, ‘Sangeet Sangati’, ‘Sangeet Charitra Kosh’. He has co-authored book ‘Pashchatya Sangeet Samdnya Kosh’ with Dr Ashok Da Ranade.

Dr Kunte has received awards such as ‘Pt. Govindrao Patwardhan Award for Excellence in Harmonium’ (2007), ‘Keshavrao Bhole Sangeetkaar Puraskaar’ (2010), ‘Vasantotsav Award’ (2010), ‘Di Go Datar Sangeet Shikshak Puraskar’ and ‘Dhrupad Gayak Shankarrao Ashtekar Award (2015), ‘Rohini Bhate Award for music compositions for dance’ (2017).